hZ3KTmbkSZijWUy8LGMm_Q

We are Creating the Best Websites Amazing Plugins |

Temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Temple News

News About LDS Temples

House of the Lord Mesa Arizona Temple by LDS Temple News

House of the Lord Mesa Arizona Temple by LDS Temple News

The Mesa Arizona Temple was announced on October 3, 2019. Its site was dedicated on November 28, 1921, by Heber J. Grant, with the groundbreaking following on April 25, 1922. The temple was dedicated from October 23 to 26, 1927, also by Heber J. Grant. A public open house took place from March 19 to April 3, 1975, leading to its dedication on April 15 and 16, 1975, by Spencer W. Kimball. The most recent open house was held from October 16 to November 20, 2021, followed by a rededication on December 12, 2021, by Dallin H. Oaks.

The architecture features a flat roof with sculpted friezes, four instruction rooms, six sealing rooms, and one baptistery, covering 75,000 square feet. The temple stands 53 feet tall at an elevation of 1,240 feet and is situated on 20 acres. Its exterior consists of concrete reinforced with 130 tons of steel and is finished with glazed, eggshell-colored terracotta tiles.

Located east of the original Mesa Townsite, the temple anchors a historic district. The grounds include a public visitors’ center, gardens, and reflection pools. Each Easter, it hosts “Jesus the Christ,” the world’s largest outdoor Easter pageant, while during Christmas, it features a large Nativity display with extensive lighting.

The Mesa Arizona Temple was the first in Arizona and the first to provide the endowment in a language other than English. It also reopened for a public open house before its rededication, originally being called the Arizona Temple. The endowment was presented through live acting initially.

Carved friezes depict the fulfillment of Isaiah’s prophecy. The temple closed in February 1974 for extensive remodeling to enable single-room film presentations, and, during this time, burlap murals were removed. Additional space of 17,000 square feet was added for larger dressing rooms and sealing rooms. A fourth ordinance room was created in 1980, allowing for more frequent endowment sessions. In 1991, sections of the original murals were reinstalled.

On May 19, 2018, the temple underwent a three-and-a-half-year renovation, which included new roofing, drainage systems, mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC upgrades, along with interior enhancements. The grounds were improved to accommodate shade trees, reflection pools, and new gardens, and a new visitors’ center and Family Discovery Center were constructed.

Share on